Eccentric?

I have an orderly mind. And I like the world outside my head to be equally ordered. I have several habits, routines and rituals which I consider entirely logical but others tend to consider a bit unusual.

For example, I have a tendency to rotate things, such as clothing, dishware, silverware, my dining room chairs, my mattress, sheets and pillow cases, towels and washcloths —– well, you get the idea. My reasoning is quite sound – at least in my mind. I live alone, but I have lots of stuff; like dinnerware and silverware service for 16, stacks of towels and washcloths, bedding, underwear, socks, handkerchiefs shirts, shorts, slacks, jeans etc., etc. And I want my things to get even wear.

For example, I don’t want to go to the closet and pick out a shirt and have it not smell fresh because it has been hanging there for months since the last washing. I make sure I cycle through things. So when I take things out of the dryer and fold them I place them at the bottom of their stacks in my dresser or linen closet, and in the back of similar items in my clothes closet. That seems perfectly rational to me.

When I load the dishwasher I arrange things in the exact order they have been used so I can place them in that order in the kitchen cupboard, again behind the others. Same thing with silverware, but at least I just put all of an item as a group at the bottom of their sections in the silverware drawer. I’m not so crazy that I keep track of the exact order I’ve used spoons! Now that would really be weird! Another thing I do with dishes is rinse and brush everything in hot water before I load them in the dishwasher. I do this because I run the dishwasher only about twice a week, after I’ve accumulated a full load. If I put things in it with traces of food on them there would undoubtedly be an unpleasant odor. This causes a problem – one couldn’t tell whether the dishes  are clean or dirty! The photo below demonstrates this – –  – clean or dirty?

I am a world-class procrastinator. My life motto is: Never put off  ’til tomorrow what can possibly be put off to the next day! Because of this I have to do important things on a strict schedule. Otherwise some things would rarely get done. I do the wash on a schedule – whites on Wednesday and Sunday, colors if needed on the same days. Bedding always on Sunday. Towels and washcloths always on Wednesday. Sundays I rotate my dining room chairs.  On Sundays closest to the first of a month I rotate my mattress clockwise, except for the Sundays closest to January 1st and July 1st, when I flip the mattress. On the first days of February, May, August, and November I change the Air Conditioner filters. There’s lots more things, but I believe I’ve made my point.

Wow! I just read the above. I guess I am a bit strange! Well, I prefer eccentric.

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me

Leave a Reply

