Face It and ‘Fess Up

I don’t like to be wrong.  I’m sure I share that trait with the rest of the human race.  But that doesn’t make me feel any better about it.  I especially don’t like it when I discover I’ve been wrong about something for a very long time and have actually been pleased with myself in my ignorance.

A few days ago I uploaded a photo of a water scene  taken in downtown Ft. Lauderdale.  I got a comment on the photo from fellow blogger Lunario (see Blogroll) suggesting that Ft. Lauderdale may be the Venice of America. I responded that Ft. Lauderdale does in fact advertise itself as such, that there were over 300 miles of navigable canals in the Greater Ft. Lauderdale area.  To show off my great ability to convert our measurements into metrics I stated the distance also in kilometers, as 500.  Of course, I got it wrong!   I don’t know what I was thinking when I wrote it.  I certainly didn’t make any calculation in my head. I guess you could call it an anal extrapolation!

It wasn’t long after uploading my response that I realized my error – then I proceeded to compound it, further demonstrating my ignorance. In an Email to Lunario I confessed my error, stating that I knew very well that the correct conversion was 486 kilometers. I even explained my method of converting miles to kilometers: I  calculate 60% of the number of miles in my head, add that to the number of miles and then add an additional kilometer for each 50 miles. This converts at the rate of  1 mile equals 1.62 kilometers.

I got a funny feeling about this after I sent the Email, so I Googled metric conversions, and, much to my chagrin I found that the rate is 1.61 kilometers to a mile (rounded to two decimal places). The correct conversion of 300 miles is 483 kilometers.  I should add an additional kilometer for each 100 miles.  I have been been making erroneous conversions most likely for years.   I realize my results were always very close, but that’s not the point. I hate being wrong!  Grrrrrrrrrr………..!!

Well, my mother taught me that when you screw up you should accept the fact that you did, and acknowledge it to others, if involved.

So, here goes:  To Lunario and anybody else that read my blog comment:

I SCREWED UP! I WAS WRONG!

Hmmmmm…… Hey, Mom, you were right. I feel better already!

2 Comments

Filed under Reminiscences

2 responses to “Face It and ‘Fess Up

  1. naturgesetz

    Well, I’ve never been aware that one could go beyond one decimal place: 1 mi. = 1.6km. So I always just divide by five and multiply by eight; or to go from km to mi., multiply by five and divide by eight. And I’m going to continue doing that. So I’d cheerfully say 300 mi. = 480 km.

    • Certainly your way is more rational – probably the way most sane folks do it. It is an approximation anyway. But, as I’ve mentioned before, I was an accountant – a bean-counter – and my warped mind insists on adding that extra bean to achieve greater accuracy. That is what upset me so – I was throwing in extra beans!!!

Leave a Reply

