How Could I Have Missed It?

I have been paying virtually all my bills on line for several years.  I receive all but one of my monthly bills and statements on line also.  The only one I get in the mail is for city water, sewer and trash pickup.  The city doesn’t have a paperless billing system, but does have a feature wherein payment is made automatically from my checking account.  I once wrote many checks each month, but now I write very few – mainly for home repairs, charitable contributions, doctors, annual homeowner’s and flood insurance, Xmas and Wedding gifts.

For the past few years I have had a specific goal for myself – get through a complete month without having to write even one check.  I had one ground rule – that I would not deliberately put off writing a check for the sole purpose of achieving the goal.  Some months I came very close, but the goal had not yet been accomplished – or, so I had thought.

Yesterday, I decided to write a blog post about this quest – one more example of how weird I have become in my dotage!  So, I went back through my check register to document how I have often come very close in the past two plus years.

This year the number of checks I wrote, by month from January to June were:   4, 1, 4, 1, 1 and 3.

In 2008, by month there were:  1, 2, 8, 2, 1, 2, 1, 1, 4, 1, 1 and 9.

But when I checked the register for 2009 I discovered:  7, 2, 5, 2, 1, 2, 1, 1, 5, NONE!, 2, and 4.  I had actually achieved my goal in October 2009 and I had failed to realize I had done so!

I can’t believe I missed this most momentous accomplishment!  Maybe it’s because my bank statements are as of the 25th of each month, and I’ve never received a statement which did not have at least one check listed.

Anyway, though disappointed by this discovery I am quite relieved that I no longer have to go through such pressure each month!  …….. God, I need to get a life!!!

2 Comments

Filed under About Me

2 responses to “How Could I Have Missed It?

  1. naturgesetz

    Maybe I should try to do that. I’m such a procrastinator that I sometimes go two or three months without paying the monthly utility bills.

    But I need to pay the credit cards by check, because otherwise I wouldn’t know when it’s time to give the account an infusion of cash.

Leave a Reply

