Ethnic American Food

I recently saw the following YouTube video in which an American woman shows the USA area of a Berlin, Germany supermarket’s Ethnic Foods section.

I thought it was amusing, but I believe the young lady must have misinterpreted the store sign (which is not shown in the video).  I believe it was an International Foods section, not an Ethnic one.  There was nothing that I saw on the USA shelves that would be even remotely considered uniquely American or be an ingredient for cuisine peculiar to the United States.  They are just American brands of common food products. In fact, I do not believe that there are such things as ethnic American foods or an American cuisine.

I was quite surprised, however, that a majority of the items on those shelves can be found in my pantry or refrigerator.  I’m not sure what that reveals about me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Videos

Leave a Reply

