Instant Obsolescence and a Visit to the Past

The pace of technological advances is becoming insane.  It has almost come to the point where a technologically improved product is practically obsolete within days of its introduction.  Now, I’m not opposed to progress and change.  In fact, I am one of those fools who runs out and buys the “latest toys” – the kind of person that manufacturers and merchants love – the kind of person that ensures continued research because I guarantee there will be a  market for improvements.

Nevertheless, I think we would all be better off if there were a temporary moratorium on the introduction of new and improved products, or at least a mandatory time period before their introduction. It would be nice to be able to enjoy having and using “the latest” for a reasonable period.

This thought came to mind yesterday when I was looking at some photos I had taken during a visit to my hometown in 2000.  Those shots were taken with my brand new 2.3 megapixel digital camera, replacing  my 1.0 megapixel digital camera that I had purchased less than a year earlier.  Both of those cameras are but a memory – tossed out years ago.  I have purchased five more digital cameras since then.  Four of them are now sitting on a closet shelf next to their batteries.  I am now using a 12 megapixel camera, only six months old – and I hate to go near the camera counters in stores because it is apparent that my camera is already a relic!

My camera in 2000 had a 20 megabyte memory card which could store as many as 32 photos at its highest resolution.  With my current camera and my 8 GB SD card I can store about 2,190 photos in substantially higher resolution – and it is already obsolete!

I know very well that I should be satisfied with what I have and not feel this compulsion to continually replace things that are performing well when there is no compelling need.  But I have to admit that that is the way I am.  I’m not proud of it.

As a reward for anyone reading the above, here are a few of the photos I took with that old camera on a nostalgic visit to my alma mater, the University of Rochester.

The Genesee River looking North from the campus.View from same spot looking South.Dome of the University’s main library.Inscription to the left of the entrance to the library – I was so young and naive as a student that I actually believed in mankind’s ability to gain wisdom from knowledge of the past. Inscription to the right of the entrance to the library – I bought into that, too!Front view of library.Ivy growing on classroom building.  This was in early summer.  By September, when classes start the ivy has to be hacked away from the windows in order to see out of them.A few of the on-campus dormitories.Rear access to two classroom buildings.Mens’ CafeteriaInterfaith Chapel at riverside.  I helped clear the area for construction when I was a student

Leave a comment

Filed under College Life, Personal Views, Picture Post

Leave a Reply

