Treading Water

Grrrrrrrrr………   😦

Today I had to give myself a serious internal chewing out.  I came back from the park after shooting hoops, and weighed myself after my shower, discovering that  I have not shed even one ounce since I so proudly posted about dropping six pounds about four weeks ago.  I haven’t gained anything either – that at least is a positive. Figuratively speaking, I have just been treading water, making no progress towards achieving my goal.

The main reason for this is that it has rained heavily and often almost every day for weeks, so I haven’t been getting out and exercising as  much as I’d like (and need).  Of course, given this situation, it might have been wise to cut back some on what I have been shoveling into my piehole.

I hate the thought of doing that.  I’ve reached a point in life (the 4th Quarter, so to speak) where self denial is not very appealing.

I SEE ICE CREAM  😛   I LIKE ICE CREAM  🙂   I EAT ICE CREAM  😀   – or –

I SEE ICE CREAM  😛   I LIKE ICE CREAM  🙂   I DON’T EAT ICE CREAM  😥

So I say to myself:  “Why not?  Who knows, I could be dead tomorrow.  It sure would be a tragedy of the first order if I had denied myself the simple enjoyment of a small dish of ice cream.”   – Wouldn’t it?

On the other hand, I really would like to shed those twelve more pounds.  What a dilemma!  Well, we’ll see how effective my self chastisement is.

More sunny days will help!   😉

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me

Leave a Reply

