Why?

Who, what, where, when, why and how – six short simple words – yet they account for the entirety of human inquiry.  And the most important of them is “why”.  The others are simple, but “why” is profound.  The others have no meaning or purpose absent an underlying “why”. The ability to conceptualize “why” separates humans from the lesser animals every bit as much as awareness of self, time and mortality.

If you have read this far you are likely wondering what on Earth that’s all about.  Well, I haven’t ingested some illegal substance.  I’ve  merely been pondering a rather simple “why” for the past few days, and somehow my mind transitioned to consideration of the concept rather than the issue.  But, enough about that.  I now move to the original intention of this post.

I’ve been wondering why I continue the blog when nobody reads it.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  In English, the word “nobody”, depending on the context, can be either an absolute or a relative term, and I use the word in the latter sense.

A good example of this is the often stated assertion that “nobody” goes to Florida Marlins baseball games.  In fact their average paid attendance exceeds 18,000 per game.  In eighty-one home games that amounts to almost one and a half million.  However, the average paid attendance for all major league baseball games exceeds 30,000 per game – hence, the assertion that “nobody” goes to the Marlins’ games.

An even better example of how the word can be used in a relative sense is: “Nobody goes there anymore. It’s too crowded.”  Now, that sentence is at once both absurd and profound!

My blog has had an average of seven hits a day, but the average has dropped to four in the past month.  Actually, that is more people than I normally talk to in a day.  And three people have been thoughtful enough to make comments occasionally, which is terrific.  But, like most bloggers I’m sure, I had hopes to find a larger audience.  After all, I make such brilliant, thoughtful, interesting and witty posts!!  😛

To get serious again – – I got to wondering why anyone blogs.  I know that I first told myself that my reason was that I wanted to improve my writing.  And, to some extent I have succeeded, in that the words now come easily.  But I still have a long ways to go to achieve fluidity and clarity.

However, after much thought I have admitted to myself that the primary reason I started this blog is the same reason I believe motivates everyone else; to wit:

I AM!   LOOK AT ME!   I EXIST!  ………. PLEASE?!

Besides, it really is fun!   😉

2 Comments

Filed under Personal Views

2 responses to “Why?

  1. naturgesetz

    Sorry I haven’t been commenting lately. I guess during the busy periods before and after my trip, I just let things slide.

  2. The reason why I’m not commenting and intensively reading here as much as I want to is very much in line with naturgesetz’s reason: I often lack the time to read all blogs of my online friends.
    Sometimes it’s already difficult for me to keep my own blog up-to-date.

    I’ll try to pay more attention to your blog from now on, promise. 🙂

Leave a comment