We Made It!

YEA!  We made it!  Tomorrow is the official end of the 2010 Atlantic Hurricane Season, and for the fifth consecutive year no major hurricane has hit the U.S. mainland.  The only other such 5-year periods were 1901-1905 and 1910-1914.  Anyone for six?   😉  Oddly, this year’s 19 named storms made it , along with 1897 and 1995, the third busiest season on record.

The following graphic was in this morning’s  South Florida Sun-Sentinel, showing the paths of all this year’s  named storms.  It shows that Mother Nature decided to punish the middle Atlantic, the West Indies and Mexico.  Just one little storm named Bonnie, that never reached hurricane strength,  invaded South Florida – passing right over my house, as a matter of fact.  But it was just unusually windy and rainy, without doing any damage.

Once again I can give a sigh of relief for my house having survived another hurricane season without storm shutters.  This makes 21 years of living dangerously.  Although I have suffered serious damages from hurricanes: the loss of three giant trees, which thankfully decided to not fall against my house or on my car,  and major damages to my roof and screened lanai, my windows have never been breached.  A neighbor tells me that with my luck I should be buying lottery tickets!

Every summer I promise myself to have storm shutters installed during the next winter; the kind that you either roll up or across and lock.  But I always put it off until, suddenly, I realize that it is the pre-storm period when the shutter installers are so busy and the prices are the highest – so I tell myself: “Guess I’ll have to wait ’til next year.”   😆

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “We Made It!

  1. Gosh! We have quite a lot of trees around us here but really such moderate and reasonable weather that we tend to forget about you guys dicing with death every year!

    • Ed

      Yup, it can be quite scary, and unlike other natural disasters that are awful but quickly done with, hurricane anxiety and fears last for weeks – starting with their creation off the coast of Africa or in the Caribbean and continuing as they slowly move towards you. And when they actually hit, the howling winds and torrential rains last for hours. There is the constant fear of a tree falling on the house or of a flying object crashing through a window, inviting all Hell to enter your home. Yet, as I wrote on my post in early June, that’s the price we have to pay for living in Paradise.

Leave a Reply

