Woo Hoo! I’m Rich!! – NOT!

The following showed up in my Junk Email folder today.

FROM: DIPLOMATIC AGENT

I am a Diplomat named Mr. Dom May, mandated to deliver your inheritance to you in your country of residence.
The funds total US$7.5 Million and you were made the beneficiary of these funds  by a benefactor whose details will be revealed to you after handing  over the funds to you in accordance with the Agreement I signed with the benefactor when he enlisted my assistance in delivering the funds to you.
I am presently at JFK Airport in the United States of America and before I can deliver the funds to you, you have to reconfirm the following Information so as to ensure that I am dealing with the right person
1. Full Name
2. Residential
3. Age
4. Occupation
5. Direct Telephone
After verification of the information with what I have on file, I shall contact you so that we can make arrangements on the exact time I will be Bringing your package to your residential address.

Send the requested information so that we can proceed.
Regards
Mr. Dom May

Glory-owski!  I’m rich!  At the point in my life when I had finally accepted that my dreams would never be fulfilled, comes this great good fortune!  😀

Seriously, it saddens me knowing there are naive and gullible people who will believe this and as a result end up much wiser and much poorer.  Oh, and much embarrassed too.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Woo Hoo! I’m Rich!! – NOT!

  1. naturgesetz

    Interesting. This one doesn’t even ask for bank account information. I guess it’s a gradual confidence-building tactic.

  2. There are apparently reputable firms around who seriously ask for details of our bank accounts so that they can refund something or pay us for something directly.

    It’s an option with google so that we can be paid our dues for hosting their ads.

    Amazing!

Leave a Reply

