Senior Moment

Yikes! I made a post this morning to my Blogger Blog that I intended to make here!   I guess my brain was temporarily in recess.  Actually, I don’t think this is a true “Senior Moment” – I still know my name and remember what I ate for breakfast. – but it bugs me when I do something like that.

So, I’m not going to delete the other post – I’ll just post it here also, just change a few words.

The subject is:  My First New Car

Today I saw the below YouTube video of a 1965 Ford Fairlane, obviously at an antique auto show. The first new car I ever bought was a dark green 1965 Ford Fairlane.  I truly loved that car – it was my baby.

I moved to Florida in 1966 where the tropical sun did such a job on the exterior that I had to have it repainted in 1967.  It did not have air conditioning, and parked all the time in the driveway, the vinyl seats would feel like red hot coals when I got in the car in the daytime, and it was almost unbearable to drive in the daytime without the windows wide open.

Still, I felt quite sad when I traded it in on a new air conditioned 1968 Chevrolet Impala.  It was almost like I was  abandoning my first born.  I never felt that way about discarding a car after that.  Cars eventually became just a means of getting from Point A to Point B.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reminiscences, Videos

Leave a Reply

