Time and Photos

I haven’t been posting much lately because I’ve had so little liesure time.  I’ve been busy busy for several weeks.  And it is not going to change much in the near future.

This coming Saturday I will be driving to Orlando for three days.  Eleven days later I’ll be going to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina for a week.  Then, there will be company arriving a few days after I return home.  Soon thereafter I’ll be off on a four day trip to Tampa.

I’m also planning to drive north to New York State  in late June or early July.  That trip will involve ten or eleven days, adding a minimum of 3,500 miles (about 5,650 kilometers) or so to my odometer, including several trips from Rochester to Buffalo and back – lots of relatives to see.  It has been three years since I’ve been back home, so I think I should not put it off another year.

Then, hopefully,  I can return to the idle life I’m more accustomed to.

My daily walks are also contributing to my diminishing free time.  I’m doing about five miles a day which takes about an hour and a half plus another half hour or so to shower and dress.  Also, I often get bored walking in the neighborhood, so I drive someplace, park and walk from there.  That adds at least an additional half hour.

My walking program has already yielded some great results.  I’ve covered 212 miles (about 340 kilometers) in 43 days.  I have moved up two notches on my belt and have lost close to 15 pounds.  Plus my pulse is now consistently in the 50’s, sometimes in the 40’s,  and my blood pressure is averaging 105/70.   😀

Here are a few photos taken on recent walks.

I thought this egret was just a plastic decoration in this very unusual easement between the sidewalk and street.  Normally such areas have only grass and trees. I was quite startled when it moved right after I took the photo.

I almost stepped on this turtle in the park.  He was at least 50 feet from the nearby lake, and apparently had decided to rest up a bit.  I was tempted to pick him up and carry him to the water, but decided  not to.

I was not the only one taking a brisk walk in the park.

Another lake in the same park.

This is a ramp leading to a bridge over a creek.  The athletic field of a school is at the other end.  If you enlarge the photo you’ll notice that while access to the ramp is blocked by a locked gate, access via the wheelchair access ramp is unobstructed.  Access to the athletic field, however, is blocked.

2 Comments

Filed under Picture Post

2 responses to “Time and Photos

  1. Dave

    I look foward to your return ,although I must express a simillar tight schedule thus preventing me from attending the blog lately. I’m sure that last sentence had a ton of grammatical errors 🙂 Yes I have recently moved to Tallahassee Fla. Not quite as tropical and interesting as your neighborhood, but still Florida none the less!

    • Ed

      Strange, I have lived in Florida off and on for over 30 years and have been all around the state, except that I have seen nothing of the panhandle other than what I’ve seen through my windshield while zipping along on Interstate 10 on the way to New Orleans and back. I’m sure I’ve missed some nice places. From what I read the Spring Breakers like that area.

Leave a Reply

