“By the sea, by the sea, by the beautiful sea…”

I am in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina on a one week mini-vacation – staying in a rental condo in a high rise right on the ocean, along with relatives from the north country.  I could really get used to this. The leisure life style  fits me just fine.  Of course come the onset of winter I would have to hightail it back to Florida.

I have been taking mucho photos; so many that I’ve already had to recharge the camera battery twice.  I’m including a few photos here, and will have many more in future posts  -probably  enough to bore a reader to tears.

This is an inland view from the condo.  So many of the homes near the ocean are raised on stilts.  There are signs on all roads accessing the beach area from the main highway that warn that the area is subject to flooding.  Some residences, however, are actually at ground level.  I sure hope they don’t have expensive carpeting.

View of the sunrise from the condo balcony.  I took about 20 shots showing the transition from just an eerie glow on the horizon to the full sun.  If you enlarge this photo you will see the sun just peeking above the horizon.  I had not seen either a sunrise or sunset for many years because everywhere I’ve been at such times I have been surrounded by buildings.  So this was kind of neat!

The first time I went down to the beach there were many of these unattractive creatures lying around on the sand, many totally covered by sand – so one had to watch where one was walking.  I’m not sure that stepping on one would be a very pleasant experience.  Someone on the beach said that their undersides are even uglier – all kinds of tentaacles and other wiggly things!  Yeeach!

Every time I am travelling in the southern states I make sure to shop at a Piggly Wiggly supermarket at least once.  I love to tell people that I shopped there.  I get all giggly just saying Piggly Wiggly!  What a silly name!

You better believe I’m going to evacuate myself from the beach!  Give me at least two days notice!

This is a boardwalk by the ocean at Myrtle Beach State Park.  The skyline of Myrtle Beach is seen in the distance.  Inland from the beach and the boardwalk is a wilderness area with several nature trails.  It must have looked exactly the same to the first European settlers.  I made a short video whilst roaming through which I may include in a future post.

This 1950 Willys Overland was in the parking lot of a restaurant  where I stopped for lunch.  I love ancient vehicles.  In my next life I may consider becomming a collector of antique autos!  This one had an “I Like Ike” bumper sticker in the back.

2 Comments

Filed under Picture Post

2 responses to ““By the sea, by the sea, by the beautiful sea…”

  1. Seth (Sethboyardee)

    LOL at the sign – as if its saying gee, if you see a really big wave…. run. But it would be too late. Maybe the sign floats.

    Have a wonderful vacation!!

  2. sean

    hope you enjoy our state where you from

Leave a Reply

