Picture Post

So little is happening in my life these days that I find it difficult to come up with anything to write about.  This after quite an extended period of being too busy to write.  Such is life.

So, mainly to show that I am still alive and functioning, I offer a few photos taken in recent days.

I came upon this family of burrowing owls on one of my walks.  There were actually five owls gathered around their burrow, but two of them decided to turn away from the camera just as I took the shot.  I punished them for their rudeness by cropping them out of the photo.  So there!

I may have mentioned in another post that the Florida Burrowing Owl is protected by the state of Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission and the federal Migratory Bird Treaty Act.  Only in the rarest of circumstances may one of their nests be removed.  Several years ago a pair made its burrow on the 40 yard line of a high school’s football field and as a result the team could practice only on half of the field and had to play all of its games on the fields of the opposing teams.

These cute little ducks were casually strolling next to the shoulder of an extremely busy highway during the afternoon rush hour.

This statue is on the grounds of St. Maximilian Kolbe Catholic Church in Pembroke Pines.  Kolbe was a Catholic priest in Poland of German extraction who sheltered several thousand Jews during the Nazi occupation and was later captured and sent to Auschwitz.  After the escape of some prisoners, the Nazis selected ten prisoners to be starved to death as a deterrence to the rest.  Kolbe volunteered to take the place of one who had been selected.

It was dark and gloomy one day last week when I went out to pick up the morning newspapers, but suddenly the Sun appeared in a long thin vertical crack in the clouds.  By the time I got my camera and took this photo the crack had widened.  Because the camera was set for automatic exposure the brilliant sunlight caused the photo to be underexposed.  I adjusted the exposure in Photoshop but I prefer the original.  When I took the photo I was not aware of the bird perched on the top of the streetlight – much more visible if you enlarge.

Hibiscus

 

1 Comment

Filed under Picture Post

One response to “Picture Post

  1. Sethy

    LOL at the football team. Did they re-name the team the Owls?

    Hi and hello 🙂

Leave a Reply

