Videos

I went to another high school football game a week ago Friday.  That made three games this month after a more than half-century had passed since I last attended a high school game.  I tried to capture scoring plays on video but my timing was not very good.  Several times during the game I would record a few minutes of play, but I was only able to catch one of the seven touchdowns scored.  😥

Anyway, I combed through all the shots I had taken and put together this boring exciting compilation video – best viewed full-screen.  The game was between two la-de-da college prep type schools –  the Archbishop McCarthy Mavericks,  the home team in black, and the Somerset Academy Panthers, in the white jerseys.  The Somerset Academy is a charter school in Pembroke Pines, and Archbishop McCarthy is in the neighboring town of Southwest Ranches.

Being a nut about marching bands I was looking forward to seeing the McCarthy Band perform.  A band strolled onto the field and played the National Anthem before the game but it was quite small and they weren’t wearing uniforms. Plus they all looked like middle schoolers.  After the anthem they sat in plastic chairs next to the end zone and only played what I assumed to be the fight song after Bishop McCarthy scores.

They didn’t do a halftime marching show on the field.  Instead, they played a few numbers in the area where they sat.  On my way to the concession stand I made this blah great recording.  Up close, they looked even more like 8th graders.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marching Bands, Videos

Leave a Reply

