Alligator Alley

The portion of Interstate Highway 75 which crosses South Florida from Weston to Naples on the Gulf Coast is referred to as Alligator Alley – and appropriately so.  It is approximately 80 miles of nothing but swamps, alligators, crocodiles, snakes, ibises and egrets.  Oh, and lots of bugs and skeeters! In the entire stretch there are only two rest stops with restrooms, vending machines and picnic tables.  About three quarters of the way there’s an exit to an Indian reservation where food and fuel can be obtained.  Tall chain link fences stretch all along the route, on both sides of the highway, apparently keeping the creatures without wings from the road.

I downloaded this Google Maps satellite view which shows how empty the area is – empty of humans, that is:

On my way back from my Christmas stay in Naples I made a few videos and cobbled them together to show how desolate the area is and how boring the ride:

3 Comments

Filed under Videos

3 responses to “Alligator Alley

  1. naturgesetz

    Well, there isn’t a whole lot going on, but at 70 mph, at least it doesn’t last too terribly long.

    I’m pleased to note that you used your signals when changing lanes.

    • Ed

      Unless I consciously think of it I signal lane changes and turns even if it is 3 AM and no other car is in sight. I sometimes feel foolish catching myself doing so. I guess it is just an ingrained habit of over a half-century.

Leave a Reply

