Instant Coffee and the Microwave

I am definitely no genius but I’ve always felt that my mind works a little better than most.  Thus, it shakes me to the core when I am faced with evidence of how incredibly dense I can sometimes be.

The latest thing involved coffee and the microwave.  I drink coffee at every meal.  Mornings, unless I am in a hurry or particularly lazy, I grind whole coffee beans.  But for lunch and dinner I use instant coffee.

Up until about six months ago like most people  I would heat water to a boil in a tea pot and pour it into my cup containing the instant coffee.  Then I read an article on coffee brewing on the Internet which stated that the best way to make instant coffee was to heat the water to a boil in the microwave and then drop the instant coffee into the hot water by spoon.

So I tried it and I am sold.  It may be all in my mind but I am convinced this method results in better tasting coffee.  It doesn’t matter whether it’s real or imaginary.  But most of all, the five year old residing between my ears is thoroughly entertained by the instant frothing that occurs when the coffee granules hit the water.  It’s like watching a chemical reaction in the laboratory! Hey, what can I say – I am easily amused.

However, for months I was so frustrated every time I heated the water in the microwave.  I put the cup in the microwave with the handle pointing to the front.  But always when I opened the door to the microwave the handle was facing the back and I had to turn a very hot cup around in order to remove it.  It was just an ‘owie’, not an ‘ouch’, but nevertheless it was quite annoying.

Finally, about a week ago, I had an epiphany-like experience.  Out of nowhere it suddenly registered in my brain that since I always set the microwave for one minute and 45 seconds the plate the coffee cup rested on would rotate exactly the same number of times each time, so the cup handle always ended up 180 degrees from  where it started!  Well, DUH!  🙄

I can’t believe it took so long for me to realize this.  Now, I put the cup in the microwave with the handle facing the back – no more ‘owies’.

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me

Leave a Reply

