New Mattress

My new mattress and box spring were delivered and set up this morning.  It was about time the old ones were replaced.  They’re supposed to last around eight years and I’d had them for almost eleven – got my moneys worth, I guess.

The mattress is a Simmons Beautyrest, so I will have to start checking myself out in the mirror every day.  I don’t want to get too pretty!  I’m a guy, after all.  I may have to sleep in one of the other bedrooms a few nights now and then to prevent that!   😉

Wow!  I was totally shocked when I read the labels on the mattress and box spring.  Manufactured in the United Friggen States of America!! — in Waycross, Georgia,  Not China!  Can you believe that?!  And both of them are really brand new.  The mattress was manufactured on February 20, 2012 and the box spring on the 24th.

Funny thing – my first night sleeping on it will be the shortest night of the year, because Daylight Savings Time begins tonight.  That sort of snuck up on me this year.  Usually I’m thinking about its return a few weeks before, but I wasn’t aware that it is tonight until I read it in the newspaper yesterday.

Tell ya the truth, If I had my druthers we’d have Daylight Saving year round.  I don’t mind when it is dark when I get up, as it still would be part of the year.  It’s supposed to be – at least it was almost always so when I used to get up to go to work.  But it is just not right that it should ever be dark outside before dinner time!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

