Confused Coconut – All Grown Up Now

In March 0f 2008 I noticed an unusual coconut floating in the lake near my shore.  That it was a floating coconut was not what was unusual.  It was that it had started to grow while in the water.

I took a photo of it, and when it finally washed up next to the shore I plucked it out and put it in a bucket with water and some plant fertilizer.  In only a few weeks the little sprout had more than doubled in height, and it was developing roots like mad.

I didn’t want it in my yard but I felt it deserved an opportunity to survive.  So I asked a friend if he were interested in it.  He definitely was.  He said he had the ideal spot for it.

I’ve visited him many times since, but never thought about the tree until I was at his house yesterday.  When I was leaving – actually while I was backing out of his driveway, I asked him if the  tree had survived.  He replied that it certainly had.  In fact, it was only a few feet from me in the swale.  I couldn’t believe it!  This is what it looks like, a mere 4 and a half years from its watery journey to my shore.  Naturally, I had to get out of the car and take some photos.

It is even producing coconuts!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Happenings, Picture Post

2 responses to “Confused Coconut – All Grown Up Now

  1. naturgesetz

    It’s always enjoyable when something like that happens.

  2. Sethy

    That’s cool 🙂

Leave a Reply

