Ancient Treasures

I have been spending a lot of time in my garage.  I’m determined to get myself ready for a move.  Even if I don’t do it in 2014, I want the major preparations behind me.  I’ve been tossing stuff out with abandon!  I’ve also been cataloging and boxing up stuff that I will probably never use, but can’t get myself to part with.  I’m sure everybody has stuff like that.

I even made a trip to Goodwill – with a trunk full of small appliances, four boxes of books in the back seat and a huge pile of freshly laundered and folded clothes threatening to spill over the front passenger seat.  Tonight I put more junk out in the swale for bulk pickup tomorrow – assuming the pickup will be made on New Years Day.  According to the literature the City provided trash days and bulk trash days pickups will be made on schedule every day of the year except for Christmas Day.  In my zone regular trash pickups are on Wednesdays and Saturdays; recycled materials on Wednesdays, and bulk trash on the first and third Wednesdays of the month.  We’ll see – – I will not be a ‘happy camper’ if I have to bring the bulk stuff back into the garage and keep it for another two weeks!   👿

Thursday I found these two ancient treasures boxed in the garage which brought back memories from long ago – a vintage GE electric percolator and an Osterizer blender – neither had been used for decades.  It looks like there are coffee grounds on the carpet in both photos, but it it is just shadow.

Coffee Pot

Osterizer

My Mother made the best tasting coffee I have ever tasted in that General Electric percolator – rich full flavor with not a trace of bitterness.  I don’t know how she did it.  The coffee pot did not have an automatic stop.  Somehow she could tell by the color of the coffee as it bubbled up in the little glass top.  I could never do it.  Oh – – and the aroma while it was percolating was awesome!  This was back in the 1950s and 1960s.  I don’t remember when switched to a drip coffee pot.  The percolator has had to be in its box for at least three decades.

I lovingly cleaned the pot and all the parts.  Then I filled the pot with vinegar and let it perk for a while.  I followed that with water and baking soda for a bit.  Finally, I heated water in it and let it boil a few minutes three times to remove all trace of vinegar and baking soda.  I’ve been tempted to brew a pot of coffee but I probably won’t because I don’t know how to determine when its done.

I also thoroughly cleaned the Osterizer and tested it.  It still works perfectly at all the modes.  I remember my Mother getting it at the S&H  Green Stamps redemption center in Silver Spring, Maryland probably in 1970.  The major supermarket chain in Maryland gave green stamps.  I remember my Mom filling up all those stamp books and grouping five and ten filled book sets with rubber bands, saving them up until she had enough for what she wanted to get.  She didn’t use the Osterizer as much as she thought she would, and eventually it ended up in a box to rest for several decades.

I now have to decide what to do with these old treasures.  I suppose I should donate them to Goodwill so they will be used.  I know I won’t use them.  And, I could put them back into one of those boxes which will never be opened until after I’ve left the scene.   ……….  Decisions….Decisions   😕

Leave a comment

Filed under Picture Post, Reminiscences

Leave a Reply

