Picture Post – March 11, 2014

It has been some time since my last picture post – February 3rd to be exact.  The reason is that I haven’t been taking many photos lately.   Ha Ha!  I still take my camera with me every time I leave the house in the daytime, but I am finding fewer things I’m interested in shooting.

Here are a few photos taken during the past weeks:

Boat on Lake2Wow!  This weekend I actually saw human activity on the lake!  When I first moved here there were many people around the lake with rowboats, canoes and kayaks – even windsurfers.  In recent years it has been rare.  The photo was taken using telephoto from inside my house looking through the screened in patio – thus not too sharp.

Odd MailboxI saw this adornment to a mailbox on one of my walks.  The U.S Post Office sets requirements for the placement and dimensions of individuals’ mail boxes.  Apparently they don’t mind a little individualism as long as the basic requirements are met.

Farmers Market 08Some organic greens I saw at a farmers’ market.

Farmers Market 06Other goodies available at the market. …………… Hemp seeds! ……..  Hmmm……

Ft Lauderdale Boat RentalBoats for rent at Ft. Lauderdale Beach.

Hibiscus Growing WildIt appears I’ve been neglecting my hibiscus.  They’re growing wild.  I’m going to have to do some pruning one of these months!

Old GloryThis plaque is in the military veterans’ section of the cemetery where I have arranged to have my ashes filed away.  I assume President Wilson penned this during World War I.  People no longer write in such flowery style.  I can’t decide if that’s a good thing or bad.  Oh ….. almost forgot to mention that this is beneath a flagpole flying ‘Old Glory’.

Blah Dinner EntreeThis concoction I created one evening when I was too lazy to cook a meal or go out to eat, either.  I had some leftover whole kernel corn in the fridge, one almost over ripe plum tomato on the shelf and two ancient frozen hot dogs in the freezer – so I threw them together in a small fry pan, added some spices, a little butter, some dried chopped onion and minced garlic, a little water and splash of rum.  Very colorful, don’t you think?    This with a small mound of cottage cheese sprinkled with chives and a cup of black coffee made up my evening meal.  And, surprisingly, it was quite tasty!!

2 Comments

Filed under Picture Post

2 responses to “Picture Post – March 11, 2014

  1. Pingback: Anonymous

  2. naturgesetz

    I’d guess the Wilson quote came as we were entering WWI.

    The dinner looks and sounds good. Clever use of available items.

Leave a Reply

