Picture Post – October 23, 2014

This past Monday I decided to take my walk outside the village for a change of scenery.  I walked to the weird new FBI Building to see how the construction was progressing.  It’s just about two miles from my building.  On foot, I would be able to take photos from across the street standing still, rather than while driving in traffic at around 50 miles per hour as I showed in my post of August 30.

On the was I passed this sign by a small lake.  Yikes!!  -made me a wee bit nervous.  After all this was only a few miles from the Everglades and even though the area is developed all the small lakes and canals are connected.  It is not unheard of for ‘gators to find their way to neighborhoods close to the Everglades.

Alligators Sign

I continued on my way to the construction site and took several photos.  The odd looking building looks almost completed.  There is even some landscaping going on.  The other, more normal looking, building looks a long ways from completion.

FBI Bldg 09

Here’s a view from directly across the street.  If you enlarge the photo you will notice little black spots by the upper right corner of the building.  They are turkey buzzards circling.  They like to ride the air currents around tall structures.  They were not circling a potential carrion lunch – at least I hope they weren’t!

FBI Bldg 06

Incidentally, I walked back on the other side of the street from the lake!

Here are a few photos from a recent Camera Club outing at nearby Flamingo Gardens.

Flamingo Gardens 01

 

Flamingo Gardens Animals 15

 

Flamingo Gardens Animals 02

 

Flamingo Gardens Flowers 10

 

Flamingo Gardens Flowers 07

 

Here are a few from another club outing – Studio 18 in the Pines – a city facility which stages art exhibits and rents out studios to artists and craftsmen.  Here are a few shots I took of some of the individual studios.  It was a Saturday and none on=f the artists were in residence.

Studio 18-10

Studio 18-07

 

Studio 18-08

Studio 18-09

A few of the artists’ works for sale.

Studio 18-17

Studio 18-16

Studio 18-15

Studio 18-20

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Picture Post

Leave a Reply

